Alzheimer’s & Dementia

12 Sep 2017

BY: Mel

Disease / Mel

Alzheimer’s is the most common form of Dementia, affecting millions of people and their families in the U.S.A.  If you or your family has been touched by Alzheimer’s, you know the effects.

We work to directly address depression, anger, and anxiety in those living with AD.  With this approach, individuals find improvement in:

  1. Concentration
  2. Relaxation
  3. Motivation
  4. Immediate Memory
  5. Memory of Significant Events
  6. Daily Living Activities
  7. Social Skills

Seven Stages

Stage 1:  No impairment

Diseases is not detectable. No memory problems or other symptoms of dementia are evident.

Stage 2:  Very Mild Decline

May notice minor memory problems or lose things around the house, although not to the point where the memory loss can easily be distinguished from normal age related memory loss. The person will still do well on memory tests and the disease is unlikely to be detected by physicians or loved ones.

Stage 3:  Mild Decline

At this stage, the friends and family members of the individual may begin to notice memory and cognitive problems. Performance on memory and cognitive tests are affected and physicians will be able to detect impaired cognitive function.

People in stage 3 will have difficulty in many areas including:

  • finding the right word during conversations
  • remembering names of new acquaintances
  • planning and organizing


People with stage three Alzheimer’s may also frequently lose personal possessions, including valuables.

Stage 4:  Moderate Decline

In stage four of Alzheimer’s disease clear cut symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease are apparent. Patients with stage four Alzheimer’s disease:

  • Have difficulty with simple arithmetic
  • May forget details about their life histories
  • Have poor short term memory (may not recall what they ate for breakfast, for example)
  • Inability to manage finance and pay bills


Stage 5:  Moderately Severe Decline

During the fifth stage of Alzheimer’s, patients begin to need help with many day to day activities. People in stage five of the disease may experience:

  • Significant confusion
  • Inability to recall simple details about themselves such as their own phone number
  • Difficulty dressing appropriately


On the other hand, patients in stage five maintain a modicum of functionality. They typically can still bathe and toilet independently. They also usually still know their family members and some detail about their personal histories, especially their childhood and youth.

Stage 6:  Severe Decline

Individuals in the sixth stage of Alzheimer’s disease need constant supervision and frequently require professional care. Symptoms include:

  • Confusion or unawareness of environment and surroundings
  • Major personality changes and potential behavior problems
  • The need for assistance with activities of daily living such as toileting and bathing
  • Inability to recognize faces except closest friends and relatives
  • Inability to remember most details of personal history
  • Loss of bowel and bladder control
  • Wandering


Stage 7:  Very Severe Decline

Stage seven is the final stage of Alzheimer’s disease. Because Alzheimer’s disease is a terminal illness, patients in stage seven are nearing death. In stage seven of the disease, patients lose ability to respond to their environment or communicate. While they may still be able to utter words and phrases, they have no insight into their condition and need assistance with all activities of daily living. In the final stages of the illness, patients may lose their ability to swallow.

Interested in our treatment methods?  Book a Confidential Evaluation online or call us at (866) 941-3797.

Do you follow us on Facebook or Instagram?  If Yes, mention this while booking and we will waive the evaluation fee.